Alliance Alice M. Baxter College-Ready High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Testing » Testing Summary

Testing Summary

 Alliance Testing 2014-15

Alliance schools are required to complete all mandatory California Testing Programs as well as Alliance-wide exams.  Below is a summary of each of the exams for the 2014-15 school year:


California Testing Programs

The California assessments that comprise the 2014-15 administration are a mix of computer-based and paper-based assessments. The computer-based component is the Smarter Balanced Field Test, which tentatively includes EAP.  The paper-based component includes a mix of legacy Standardized Testing and Reporting assessments.

Smarter Balanced Operational Test

In California, all students in grades 3-8 and 11, must participate in the 2014-15 Smarter Balanced Operational Test.  Scores will be produced for these tests, which include both English Language Arts/Literacy and Mathematics content areas. These tests are administered entirely online.

California Standards Tests (CSTs)

The CSTs are a paper-based test. CSTs in Science are to be administered to students in grades 5, 8, and 10.  Grade 8 will take the Physical Science exam and grade 10 will take the Life Science.

California Modified Assessment (CMA)

The CMA for Science is to be administered to students in grades 5, 8, and 10 who have an individualized education program (IEP). Assignment of the CMA is made in the student’s IEP only; a student’s Section 504 plan is not to be used to assign a student to take the CMA (although accommodations may be named in the Section 504 plan or in the IEP). Science is the only area tested using the CMA.

California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA)

The CAPA is an individually administered performance assessment for students in grades 2 through 11 who have significant cognitive disabilities and who are unable to take either the CSTs even with accommodations or modifications or the CMA with accommodations.

Students in grades 5, 8, and 10 who have been assigned to take the CAPA will take the CAPA for Science. All students in grades 2 through 11 who take the CAPA will take the CAPA for English–Language Arts (ELA) and Mathematics.


Standards-based Tests in Spanish (STS)

The voluntary STS are multiple-choice tests that allow Spanish-speaking English learners in grades 2 through 11 to demonstrate their knowledge of the California content standards by taking a reading/language arts (RLA) assessment in their primary language. STS items are developed by biliterate, bilingual California educators and test developers. Students in grades 5, 8, and 10 take the STS in addition to, not in place of, the CST or CMA.


Early Admission Program (EAP)

The Early Assessment Program (EAP) is a collaborative effort among the State Board of Education (SBE), the California Department of Education (CDE) and the California State University (CSU). The program was established to provide opportunities for students to measure their readiness for college-level English and mathematics in their junior year of high school, and to facilitate opportunities for them to improve their skills during their senior year.  Beginning in the 2014–15 school year, the grade eleven Smarter Balanced computer adaptive assessments for ELA and mathematics will replace the augmented CSTs that are used for the EAP (per AB 484). As more information becomes available, it will be shared.


California High School Exit Exam (CAHSEE)

In California, all high school students must pass a test to earn a high school diploma. The test is called the CAHSEE. Some students with disabilities do not have to pass this test.  California created the test to improve student achievement in high schools. The test helps to ensure that students graduate from high school with grade level skills in reading, writing, and math.  Students first take this test in grade ten. If they do not pass the test in grade ten, they have more chances to take the test. In grade eleven, they can only take the test two times. In grade twelve, they have up to five times to take the test.



California English Language Development Test (CELDT)

The CELDT is given as an initial assessment to newly enrolled students whose primary language is not English and as an annual assessment to English learners enrolled in transitional kindergarten through grade twelve in California public schools.

The CELDT has three purposes:

·      To identify students who are limited English proficient

·      To determine the level of English language proficiency of students who are limited English proficient

·      To assess the progress of limited English proficient students in acquiring the skills of listening, speaking, reading, and writing in English


Physical Fitness Test (PFT)

The PFT for students in California schools is the FITNESSGRAM®. The main goal of the test is to help students in starting life-long habits of regular physical activity.  Students in grades five, seven, and nine take the fitness test. The test has six parts that show a level of fitness that offer a degree of defense against diseases that come from inactivity.

Advanced Placement Exams

Taken each May by students all over the world, the AP Exam is the final step after a year of hard work in an AP class. These standardized exams are designed to measure how well students mastered the content and skills of the course — a successful score could even earn a student credit and advanced placement in college.

Alliance-Wide Testing


Benchmark Exams (BM)

These quarterly exams are a common, on-demand assessment to evaluate students based on an Alliance-wide task.  These exams will be aligned to Common Core State Standards (CCSS) and Next Generation Science Standards and cover the major content areas.


Northwest Education Association Measured Academic Progress (NWEA MAP)

This is a computer based adaptive test covers the areas of Reading, Writing, and Mathematics and is given to students in grades 6-12. Grade-independent Common Core MAP interim assessments deliver results that show real-time growth and proficiency data. The cross-grade item pool assess grade 6 – 12 students who are performing below, on-grade, or above grade level with appropriate levels of challenge. Results are nationally norm referenced. The assessments align to each state's version of the Common Core standards


Achieve 3000

This is a computer-based test given 3 times per year (pre, interim, and post) to students in grades 6-12 Alliance-wide to assess their Lexile reading levels. Achieve 3000 provides non-fictional literacy content aligned to the Common Core State Standards. It is differentiated for each student’s Lexile reading levels. The program focuses on reading comprehension and vocabulary development instruction and assessment.